Tags

, ,

I don’t know about you, but my biggest decorating delemna is the mantle.  I have stayed up well into the wee hours of the morning trying to get it just right.  I’ve been known to settle on an arrangement only to decide I don’t like it after all and start all over.  I googled “decorated mantles” to find images and advice.  I was a little discouraged that I didn’t find much, but  also encouraged to know that I’m not the only one who struggles with decorating my mantle. As I studied the images on my computer screen, a couple of design elements stood out to me:  symmetry and layers.

I intermixed those two elements with my own “signature” (yes, I daydream about being a well-known designer) style of simple elegance.  And here’s what my mantle looks like at the moment:

Wait a minute…

There, that’s better.  I moved the tall frame over to the left a little.  I used to have the bird on the left and the finials on the right.  Take a look.

I’m curious to know which way you think looks better: with the bird on the left or the right.  Write me a comment and let me know what ya think.

Until next time,

Sharon

