Tags

The other night I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep, but I was being kept awake
trying to decide what I should have put as my favorites on the “My Favorite Things” form I had filled out earlier that day.  It is tradition to fill out these forms at the start of every school year.  They are kept in a file and referred to by parents and staff throughout the year for special occasions such as Teacher Appreciation Week.  On one hand, I struggle to fill out the form because it feels like I’m asking for stuff, and I’m not one to ask for things.  On the other hand, I like filling it out because it forces me to make decisions about what things truly are my favorite.  As I lay in bed the other night thinking about this, I couldn’t help but be reminded of Julia Robert’s character in Run Away Bride.  During the movie, Richard Gere’s character pointed out to her that she doesn’t know what she likes.  His argument was that her “favorites” changed with every new relationship, including her favorite way to eat eggs.  So, Julia’s character went on a mission of self discovery.

I’m not real sure where I’m going with this, or why I thought it was blog worthy.  I think I just felt like knowing who I am and what I like somehow would make me more evolved as a person.  And perhaps it’s significant that my mind couldn’t rest the other night because I didn’t know what all my favorites were.  I don’t know.  What do y’all think?  What’s a good moral to the story?

One final thought, I find it very comforting to know that there is One who knows me intimately and sees me without spot or blemish.  He knows my thoughts, my heart; He created me.  I may not know how to fill in the blanks that I left unanswered, but He does.  So, maybe I’ve answered my own question.  I’d still like to hear from y’all though.

Until next time,

Sharon

