Tags

, , ,

My house feels most like a  home when I’m cookin’ for my family.    From the savory smells, to the eager anticipation of a home-cooked meal, to setting the table and sitting together…it’s just sooo satisfying. Now, I will admit, this does NOT happen nearly as much as I would like it to, especially during the school year.  That’s how I justified agreeing with the telemarketer that she could send me my no risk, 30 day trial Southern Living Slow-Cooker cookbook.   I thought using my crock pot might be a good way to make sure we eat at home.  When the cookbook arrived in the mail, I was torn…try it or send it back.  Do I really need to spend money on this?  Well, I thumbed through it, and saw a recipe for red beans and rice that looked pretty good.  Aaa-end (I’m Texan..some words get a drawl and extra syllables.), I had all the makings for it in my pantry since it had been on my menu planner for about a month.  Okay, so I was going to have to buy some fresh sausage since not everything will keep til I get around to cooking it.   Anyway, last Sunday, I prepared everything, set it on low in the crock pot, and then went grocery shopping.  I was feelin’ so proud of my domestic self.    I got home, made up a batch of sweet cornbread and put it in the oven.   Everything timed out (finished cooking at the same time) perfectly.  Dinner was ready.   We fixed our plates.  We sat down at the table.  I waited to see what the reaction was going to be from my little fam…It was sooo good!  It is company worthy.  I have never been disappointed with Southern Living recipes.    Y’all should try it.   You will need:

1 (16 -ounce) package smoked sausage, sliced

2 (10-ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chiles

3 1/2 cups chicken broth  [ I didn’t have enough broth.  So I used water to make up the difference and it was just fine.]

2 teaspoons Creole seasoning [ I used Tony Chachere’s]

1 1/2 cups uncooked converted long-grain rice

2 (15-ounce) cans red beans, rinsed and drained

~Cook sausage in a large skillet over medium heat 5 minutes or unti browned; drain.  Place sausage in a 4-quart slow cooker; stir in tomatoes and next 3 ingredients.

~Cover and cook on LOW 3 1/2 hours.  Stir in beans.  Cover and cook on HIGH 30 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

Makes 8 servings.

Let me how you like it!

Until next time,

Sharon

