Tags

, , , , , , ,

It doesn’t feel like it, but it was officially Fall last Friday.  So, I got busy today and decorated for the occasion.  We have a saying in Kindergarten, “Work smarter, not harder.”  Simply put, use what you have, and don’t reinvent the wheel.  So, I applied that principal to decorating for the seasons…I didn’t really change much.  I just replaced vase fillers, and a few objects, and switched out Summer greenery for Fall foliage. I’m so pleased with the results!  Take a look.

summer, mantel, decor, home, seasonal, focal point

summer mantle

leaf, garland, pumpkins, ceramic, hurricane, vase, candle, frames, urns, decorative plate, Fall, vignette

Fall Mantle

blanket, basket, decorative, mantel, seasonal decor, Fall

full view with “fire” going

centerpiece, hurricane vases, cloches, ceramic pumpkins, table runner, Fall, candles, leaf, garland

table scape in the dining room…ready for the annual Fall Family Potluck

Only the bird and the green stems were removed.

I added the ceramic pumpkins to the existing urns, replaced the bird with the decorative plate and added the leaf garland.

I surrounded the candle in the hurricane vase with acorn vase filler.

(Pardon my reflection in the mirror.)  And never mind the fake family in the tall frame.  I’ve got Fall family pictures scheduled for Saturday.   🙂

This is an electric fire place that my parents originally bought in the ’70’s.  I’m going to haf-ta  find the picture of me from the 80’s (complete with leg warmers, reeboks and big hair) posing in front of the this mantle, and show it to y’all.  Way back when I moved into my first apartment, I rescued the fire place from my parents garage, and brought it into my home.  It’s been with me ever since.

I added this Fall colored throw to the basket and pillow.  Can’t wait for it to be cool enough to need it!

And in the dining room,  I replaced the candles, added the Fall garland and ceramic pumpkins.  Years ago, I made the arrangement you see in the background.  I used to keep it out year-round, but I grew tired of it and put it away.  I decided to dust it off and set it in the dining room.  I think it works.

Now it feels a little more like Fall around here; at least inside.

Until next time,

Sharon

 

Hey, I'm linking up to Debbie Doo's Newbie party and Show off Your Cottage Monday at The House in the Roses.  Check them out!
debbiedoosnewbieparty1.jpg

FotoFlexer_Photo-4.jpg

