Tags

, , ,

Yesterday, I told you that I resigned from my job this week, and that I was fearful of going back to turn in my keys and get my personal things.  Well, I did it.  I went up to the school today, and I’m so glad I did.  On the way over, I told myself that I would be brave and enter the building through the front office….not try to slip in a side door.  When I pulled into the parking lot, that side door was summoning me, but I resisted.  I went in, and greeted the receptionist.  She said it was good to see me.  (sigh of relief)  I went straight to my classroom and starting collecting pictures and other personal things.  I loaded my car…then went back in to turn in my keys.  The principal wasn’t there, so I knocked on the assistant principal’s door.  The school counselor opened the door and both of them greeted me with a hug.  (another sigh of relief)  I ended up visiting with them for about half an hour.  They were very kind to me and though my resignation was abrupt, they supported my decision.  I couldn’t have asked for a better response.  I left the school feeling like my friendships were still in tact…that made my trip very worthwhile.

Later on tonight, I decided to check in at beneath my heart.   (You can access the link in my blogroll.)  The words “I’m Broker than a Joke, and I Couldn’t Be Happier!” caught my eye.  So, I read the entry, and I felt like I was reading my own story.  Here’s a little excerpt that was particularly encouraging:

“It was a heartbreaking decision.

I found so much comfort in what one parent said to me.  She said, “Traci, God does everything in seasons.  This season was just shorter than you thought it would be.  But God still used you.”

It was a short season, but it didn’t mean that God did not bless me and others during that time.  It was such an honor to share the love of Jesus with those children and parents each day.”

I’m sure that parent had no idea when she spoke those words that she would one day encourage another broken-hearted teacher.   I’m reminded now of so many bible verses.  I’m terrible at quoting, so I will summarize them.

“For no one knows the mind of man, except Christ.”

“For everything there is a season.”

“God’s thoughts are not our thoughts.  His ways are higher than our ways.”

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

I have no idea what is next for me, but I know the One Who does.  I will certainly let you know when I know….

Until next time,

Sharon

