Tags

, ,

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about our identities as women.  Who here couldn’t wait to get married and become Mrs. So & So?  I know I couldn’t.  And I love the ring that Mrs. Hines has to it.  Like I mention in my about me page, I do love being called Mrs. Hines.

When I hear or say Mrs. Hines, this is the image that comes to mind.  Me, Sharon.

Not me, Mrs. Hines.

  I love taking care of my family.

 I enjoy serving them by creating a clean, cozy home with the comforts of home-cooked meals.  It’s the top priority on my list, and I believe being a mother is the highest calling in life.  My daughter is thirteen, and it is a crucial time in her life.  I’d be full of regret if I weren’t here for her when she needs me the most.

28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:  (Proverbs 31)

The Proverbs 31 woman’s life is neither weighed down by the demands of caring for her household, nor did she abandon her family to her career.  Instead, she was a dignified, multifaceted woman who had a strong sense of her individuality. (Source )  I use her as an example because I believe that THE best way to serve my family is by being a strong woman who sees my value as a person.  It is so, so important for women not to get lost in being Mom, Mrs. So & So or our job titles. Before you had those roles, you were you.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well. (Psalm 139:13-14 NIV)

Today’s lesson is this:  While maintaing joy, dignity and value in the roles we serve, be careful not to let those roles identify you.  Seek your identity in Christ first, then the rest will follow.

Until next time,

Sharon

Photography by Aubrey Ramsey

