Tags

, , , ,

I just finished cleaning up the kitchen after a yummy dinner of fish tacos, with a side of black beans, and some chips with salsa and guacamole.  This is such a quick, easy and enjoyable meal, that I wanted to share it with you.

You will need a light, flaky fish.  I keep a bag of individually wrapped, frozen talapia filets on hand which is what I used for this recipe.  I use four filets to feed a family of three.  So, I would recommend that you use at least one filet per person.

While the fish is defrosting,  heat up *grapeseed oil in a skillet.  Once the filets are defrosted, use a southwest rub to season them.  I use Adams Reserve Southwest Ancho Sear n Crust.  After generously coating both sides of the filets, use tongs to place the fish in the hot oil.  Cook 2 – 3 minutes on both sides.

After the filets are cooked,  set them aside on a plate, and use the leftover oil to heat up corn tortillas.  For my family, I heat up two tortillas per person.  When the tortillas start to bubble a little, turn them over and heat them about a minute longer.

Once you have the first round of tortillas in the skillet, heat a can of black beans in a small sauce pan.  This only takes a few minutes.  We like to stir in a little salsa and cheese to add some flavor.

Set out your favorite taco fillings.  We enjoy traditional fillings like lettuce, tomatoe, onion, cheese and sour cream.  You could also mix mayo, slaw and southwest seasoning for more of a baja style taco.

Once the beans and tortillas are heated, dinner is ready.

*Grapeseed oil doesn’t overheat and burn as easily as olive oil and it also doesn’t flavor your food.

Enjoy!

Until next time,

Sharon

