Tags

, , , , ,

One of my biggest challenges/projects that I’m taking on for 2012 is my fireplace wall. So, I’ve been trying different ways to do that. Yesterday, when my daughter got home from school, I asked her opinion on having a bookcase next to the mantel. She said no because it makes the wall look like I just stuck a bunch of furniture together. Okay, I can go along with that, but I had taken the time to paint the back wall of the bookcase to match our wall color. So where do I put the bookcase?? Oh, I know! In the empty space next to the antique chest. Then, I asked my daughter, “What am I going to put in it?” “Oh, I’m sure you will come up with something. You always do,” she encouraged. So, here is the bookcase in its new spot in the living room.

The rocking chair is a work in progress.  If you look closely at the seat, you can tell that I haven’t painted over the primer yet.  I’m still designing in my head…I want to really like it when I’m done.  Now, back to the bookcase.  I have to tell you that I just can’t stop smiling.  Sentimental touches in a home really make me happy, and this bookcase is filled with sentimental things.  I can’t wait to show you.

I love the way the picture looks leaned on top of the bookcase.  The frame used to be gold, but a while back, I used umber to warm it up a bit.

The pinecones, book and candle lend a cozy touch.  The candle is surrounded by coffee beans for the Winter season.

Now, let’s look down below on the middle shelf.  This is why I can’t stop smiling.  There’s just something so delicious about worn pages and old books.

These old books aren’t just any old books.  They are my old books.  I read every one of them when I was young-er. 🙂  

I remember sitting on my bed devouring the words on the pages from the Donna Parker series.

“Mind if I sit here?” asked a male voice.  Donna was almost afraid to turn around.  But before she had a chance to answer, the seat was occupied, and she found herself looking at a well-dressed boy she judged to be a year or two older than she was.  …excerpt from Donna in Hollywood.  

This was the kind of scandalous story that made my pre-teen heart pitter patter in anticipation.  I remember not wanting my Mom to know what the books were about because I didn’t want her to tell me I couldn’t read it.  So riskque, LOL!!!

These are some classics.  Have you read any of these stories?

Sitting on top of this stack of books is a leather bracelet with my name engraved on it.  I wore that thing everyday.

On the bottom shelf, sits this game of scrabble that I have owned for 23 years.  I sat a jack next to it to create a game theme.  I saw a neat interactive tic-tac-toe cube at Ross that I would like to add to the vignette.

While I was at it, I decided to get out the letter tiles and play around.

This was certainly a fun break from working on my mantel wall.  Thanks for going down memory lane with me.

Until next time,

Sharon

I will be linking up to the fun parties:

Tabletop Tuesday @ A Stroll Thru Life

Knick of Time Tuesday @ Knick of Time Interiors

Vintage Inspiration Friday @ Common Ground

