Tags

, ,

I thought I would share a bit on how I’m doing with my “word”.  You may recall that I chose the word contentment.

I was anything but content last week.  Sad, lonely, confused, disappointed, angry, but not content.  I rolled around in the mud of that pit for a while with the exception of last Tuesday when light, both literally and figuratively, shone on my darkness.

{source}

I loved last Tuesday because it went according to plan.  It was the one day in a stretch of days, past and future, that was forecasted to be sunny and warm.  The perfect day to work in the yard.  I was invigorated by the sweat, the progress and the promise of a new season.

As you may have seen in the first post of my Making a House a Home  series, our household has gone through a lot of changes in the last couple of years.  Just when we were at the brink of seeing the desires of our hearts realized, the plan started unraveling.  So, I’ve been left to question… whose plan was this?  Ours, Gods, both, no ones…? Are we where we are supposed to be?  Are we at the end of the journey or at a crossroad?  Do we keep hoping for the original plan to eventually fall into place?  Are our current circumstances a “no” or a “wait” answer from God?

{source}

I don’t have any of those answers.  I just know that I’m weary from being in transition.  I want to grow roots, settle down and nest.  My husband says I’m to do that regardless of expected change.  He’s right.

Why, after 43 years, would I expect or even hope for a life without dark days?  I know better.  I am intimately acquainted with trials, tribulation and dark nights of the soul.  As all of us are.  We are not promised a trouble free life.

But I have such a hard time embracing this season in our lives.  I am disappointed in the dull, dreary days.  So, I’ve asked God this past week, what is this Winter season for?

{source}

Well, wouldn’t you know it?  I was flippin’ channels late last night and found myself watching Oprah at a Tony Robbins event, and Tony Robbins happened to address the very topic of the winter season…that we all have them in our lives…it is a season to be expected.  One that we should take advantage of by spending time cuddled up with our families and recharging for the coming Spring.

I don’t know anything about Tony Robbins, and I’m not all that thrilled at how such a multitude of people look to Oprah as a spiritual mentor, but I do think that God used that particular program to give a voice to His answer to my prayers.

And the answer was this:  there is nothing new under the sun.  There are seasons: seasons in nature and seasons in our lives.  It is my prayer that I will be able to find peace and contentment in this season of my life.  That I will appreciate it, find the beauty in it and learn how to recharge.

{source}

God has continued to answer me and encourage me through sermons, scripture and even other’s blogs.  I’m very grateful.

How are y’all doing with your Word of the Year?

Until next time,

Sharon

