Tags

, , , ,

I got to thinking about the homes I’ve lived in before this one.  I waxed sentimental after my friend who just sold her house posted on facebook, “selling a house you love is an emotional roller coaster.”  I know firsthand that those words are true.

I was ready to move, excited about our new house and getting our daughter into a family friendly neighborhood with lots of other kids to play with, but still , as I got ready to walk out the door of our first home for the last time, I cried.

You literally shut the door behind you and move on to a new, open door.  That’s a plain and clear example of the physical world reflecting the spiritual.

But before it gets too deep in here, I wanted to show you some pictures of our old house.  I don’t really have many pictures of my own.  So here are some from the MLS listing when the house was on the market.

I did ALL of landscaping myself: hard and soft.  When we moved in, the yards were nothing but trees, sparse grass and dirt.  It took several years to create what you see in these pictures.  Much of what I planted was free…clippings and transplants from family.  What I did buy, I purchased at the smallest size possible to save money.

The house was built in 1978 and we bought it as a foreclosure.  There was plenty to be done.  It was a DIY-er’s dream.   This house is where I gained my DIY skills: painting every room, experimenting with faux finishes on walls and furniture, painting the exterior of a home, sewing my first window treatment, painting furniture, landscaping, and gardening.  I had a lot more energy to spend on DIY project back then.  That house did wear me out though, which is why I wanted a brand new home this time around.

If was fun sharing this old house and some of its memories with you.

Until next time,

Sharon

