Tags

, ,

I’d like to set apart a place on my blog for my musings, advice, wisdom, thoughts, and observations to share with you.

Down here, when we have something to say, we often start off with the phrase, “I’ll Tell You What”.  I actually took a moment to elaborate on the ins and outs of this phrase back in early October when I had only been blogging a little over a month.  Reading that post might help you set the figurative stage for  this ongoing series.

Okay, now that we’ve laid the groundwork.  Let me tell you what…I’ve made an observation.

source

Over the past few days, I’ve come to realize that I am very content with my life.  I’m not trying to brag or rub it in if you’re having a hard time right now.  I just want to share this delightful news with you because, I can’t remember the last time that I felt this way.  I’ve spent the last several years, if not more, rejecting today for tomorrow.  In other words, I was always waiting on the next thing.

Needless to say, that caused me angst.  I didn’t enjoy being in the moment.  It didn’t live up to my hopes and dreams.  I’ve been a lady in waiting.  I better look that up before I claim that.  😉  (Just looked it up…doesn’t apply here.)  So, I’m more like Charlie Brown waiting on the Great Pumpkin because I KNOW it’s supposed to be there.  What I see before me isn’t the it for which I’ve been searching.  I don’t about you, but I think Charlie Brown lives a sort of miserable life.

source

Well, without even knowing it was happening, my Charlie Brown ways have been kicked to the curb.  I’m living in the moment and loving it.  My sights aren’t set on the future wondering what it holds nor waiting for the “real” plan to unfold.

This is it.

My husband is in a field of work completely unrelated to what he has worked towards for the last 15 years.  I am no longer working, which means a significant cut in our income level.  I can’t afford to pay for all of the extra curricular activities my daughter would like to be involved with.  And I’m okay…more than okay…I’m finally experiencing what it feels like to be content.

And you know how important it is for Mama to be happy.

So in my journey to contentment, I feel I’ve picked up a few pieces of advice that I’d like to pass along to you:

~know what your priorities are in life, and live according to them

~Carpe Diem: sieze the day and live in the moment

~trust in God’s plans for you

With that said, I do not believe for one moment that I have ‘arrived’.  I will most likely fall off the wagon, struggle some more, and get back up again.  The journey is a process with many bruises and stops along the way, but it’s the only way to get where you’re going.

source

I want to be on that ride!  How about you?

Until next time,

Sharon

