Tags

, , , ,

Even when we were living on a double income, I loved finding a good bargain.  The thrill of the hunt is addicting.  Even more addicting is getting a “sensible chic” look.  Remember that show on HGTV?  I miss it.

Now that we are a single income family, instead of doing one big shopping spree, I do several small ones.  I space them out between paychecks and try to be diligent about keeping within a certain dollar amount on each trip.  Even so, I’m still tempted to hide the bags from my husband.

source

Why do men get that look of panic on their faces when they see a shopping bag?  “What’s that?”  they ask as their voices crack.

We nonchalantly reply, “Oh, I had to go into Target today to pick up a few things.  I lucked out cause they were having a 50% sale on their home decor.  So, I went ahead and got that lamp I’ve been wanting.  I’m so proud of  myself for getting such a bargain.  Doesn’t it look good on the end table?”

Notice, the wife never reveals how much money she spent. 🙂  The husband’s color starts to return to his face, agrees that the lamp does look good, and everything returns to “normal.”

This reminds me of a time last summer when we had our friends over for dinner.  We were all getting settled in the dining room, when my husband finally noticed the console table that I bought about two weeks before.

Mr. Hines: “When did you buy this?”

I froze in my chair.  My face turned about 2 shades of red…maybe that was just the wine.

Me:  “I got a really good deal on it.  I used my gift card, and it was on sale.”

Mr. Hines: “How much?”

Me:  “It was at Hobby Lobby.  It’s the one I showed you when we were there together.  I had a gift card, and it was on sale.”

Mr. Hines: “So how much did you spend.”

Me: ” It was only $30.”

What’s with the 3rd degree?  Seriously.

But, my secret , er, uh, I mean bargain shopping days are still going strong.   Lately, I’ve been having lots of luck at Ross.  So, I thought I would show you some of the things I’ve picked up over the last month.

Bird’s nest bowl- $7.99

vintage style clock with eiffel tower image – $8.99

aqua owl figurine – $5.99

wall plaque – $3.99

I’ll show you the rest after I’ve had a chance to break it show it to Mr. Hines. 🙂

Until next time,

Sharon

linking to:

Thursday Favorite Things Blog Hop @ Katherine’s Corner

Treasure Hunt Thursday @ From My Front Porch to Yours

Thrifty Things Friday @ The Thrifty Groove

Flaunt it Friday @ Chic on a Shoestring Decorating

**My Show & Tell link party is still going on here.**

