Tags

, ,

Often in the classroom, Monday writing lessons were met with , “I don’t know what to write about.”  And my standard reply was ” You can write about something you did this weekend.”  That’s a pretty broad concept for a five-year-old, but with some prompting, my students were able to produce some impressive stories.  I got to read about bugs, spiders, ball games, recitals, birthday parties and the list goes on.

All that to say that today, I’m going to share a little about my weekend.  Actually, I’m going to back up a little bit into last week.  I had one of THE best weeks that I’ve had in a while.  I had energy, was productive, and content.  I largely, no entirely, owe this to the fact that I didn’t have any kidney stone pain last week.  It is truly amazing how much that can affect me.

source

Friday evening, I dropped my daughter off at the church for a weekend youth retreat.  When I got home, I saw that Mr. Hines had texted me while I was out. “I’m looking forward to our weekend,” the text read.  “Me too!” I replied.

Friday evening went as planned: we ate an inexpensive meal at Cane’s and then caught the ten o’clock showing of Blue Like Jazz.  I had purchased some movie tickets through Groupon.  So, we got to see the movie for around $8.00…maybe less:  it’s been a while since I bought the tickets.

source

Anyway, the movie is based on the book with the same name.  I highly recommend it, but be forewarned that the setting is at a VERY liberal college.  So with that, comes some behavior that I had a hard time wrapping my mind around.  The fact is that the movie is awkward, uncomfortable and disturbing.  Which, in my opinion, is a sign of a good movie.   It is thought provoking in a way that we Christians need.  If you are not a Christian or are estranged from Christianity, I encourage you to see the movie…the ending is something like what I would want to say to you if we met in person.  I think you will find it refreshing.

source

Moving on from the movie review, my husband and I had planned to go down to Galveston for the day on Saturday. However, I woke up to kidney stone pain.  !@$$&!  

I slept much of the day.  My husband ran some errands, and then, later in the evening we went for a drive.  Once home, we finished a movie we had started the night before, rummaged the kitchen for dinner, and hung out and talked without interruption.  

After a while,  my husband went to bed, but since I had slept all day, I wasn’t quite sleepy enough.  So, I sat here visiting your blogs, looking around my living room at the pictures that I need to re-hang and redesigning my home in my head.

My project list just grows and grows and grows.  After feeling a bit desperate at how I seem to get none of it accomplished,  I decided I needed to get back to creating a weekly to-do list.  Then, I had the clever idea of sharing my list here with you….I seem to get more accomplished when I’ve got some accountability.

source

So here goes my list for this week:

Menu Planning-

 source

M- shredded barbeque chicken sandwiches

T- blackened fish, dirty rice and green bean casserole

W-homemade pizza with gluten free crust, caprese salad

Th- leftovers, rummage

F- something good

Sa & Su- I don’t know

Project List 

re-hang pictures

frame daughter’s poster, create message wall in her room

create curtain rod out of thin air and hang sheers in master bedroom

move dresser from garage to master bedroom

switch out mirror over mantel

start reorganizing pantry and kitchen cabinets

“finish” vignette on top of kitchen cabinets

prepare post for Debbiedoo’s magazine copycat challenge on Thursday

Chores

wash towels

get back on cleaning schedule, or at least scrub the toilet, dust and vacuum

make Dr. appt. for me and H.

return pants to Ross…use store credit to buy something cute or useful for the home

and, that’s about as structured as it gets around here.  Setting guidelines gets me going better than a strict schedule.  Do you use schedules to run your household?  How closely do you follow your schedule?

If you’re still here, thanks for listening to all of my rambling.  I decided to write as though you were sitting here in my  living room with me and I ended up being pretty long winded.

Until next time,

Sharon

