Tags

, , ,

When we moved into our first home, I imagined that we would live there for years to come.

I was a bit offended when someone said to me, “It’s a great starter home.”  Those kinds of comments get me very riled up, as in brings out the sailor in me, if you know what I mean.  I had visions of turning that little wood framed foreclosure into a lovely home.  I did my best to do just that on a single income of twenty something thousand.  I was very proud of the improvements that I had made and excited about what was yet to be done.  However, we came to the realization that, for the sake of our daughter, we needed to move.  I still wish that I could have “finished” that house.

When we moved into our current home, I thought it was perfect.  But, because of my husband’s career , I didn’t expect to live here for more than four years.

We are coming up on our fifth year in this house, and I can’t imagine living anywhere else.  Yep, as it turns out, we’re stayin’ put.  With that decision comes grand plans to tweek the house to fit our lifestyle and needs.    I shared my plans for the kitchen with you.  The cabinet hardware I ordered from Ebay came in!  Woot, woot!

My daughter wants the backyard to have a big pool and a trampoline, like her friends have.  While we don’t have the space for a trampoline or a full-sized pool, we might be able to put in a spa.  I think we’d get lots of enjoyment out of that.  I’m working on turning my postage stamp sized backyard into a little garden oasis, much like this one.

source

 Our daughter also wants a media room.  We could possibly convert our attic into a space like this, but we’re “not gonna do it.” (said in my best George Bush, Sr. impression.)

source unknown

However, we’ve made some practical changes such as switching her bedroom so that she would stop darting back and forth across the hallway naked have more privacy.

We have plans to turn the entry closet into a powder room, expand the laundry room, and replace the carpet with wood floors.  I get very excited at the prospect of what this little cottage can be and excited about creating a family home.

How ’bout you?  Do you have a family home?

Until next time,

Sharon

