Tags

,

Last Tuesday, I met my Mom in the historic section of Humble, TX.  In my rush, I forgot to bring my camera, but I did capture some of the sights with my cell phone.

We met for lunch at a quaint restaurant called Humble City Cafe.

Our plan was to eat and then browse the antique shops.  We were disappointed to learn many of the shops had been replaced by other businesses.  The one remaining antique store was closed, so we peeked in the windows just to see what we could see.

This wagon was sitting just outside the store.

After we finished window shopping, we decided to go to the Humble History Museum across the street.  This old clock was hanging above the crosswalk.

This plaque was hanging outside the museum.  Unfortunately, pictures were not allowed once inside.

The museum was filled with artifacts from people who once roamed the streets in the 1800’s and early 1900’s.  There were even dinosaur bones!  They had been excavated in central Texas and donated to the museum.

During the tour, we learned that  this Tavern used to be home to the pharmacy, jailhouse and library…all on the same floor.   The two trees have been there since the town’s beginnings and they are referred to as the trees of knowledge.  If only they could talk!

We really enjoyed our docent led tour and learning so much about the beginnings of this old town.  Thanks for coming along!

Until next time,

Sharon

I’m linking to:

Knick of Time Tuesday

