Tags

, ,

Notice anything different?

Not on me, on the blog. 😉   Mrs. Hines Class got a makeover.  Let me show you around.

For the last couple of months, I’ve been playing around in WordPress, previewing my blog in different themes, but hadn’t quite settled on one, until now. Yesterday,  I went over to visit another blogger after she “liked” the Pasta Cobb Salad post, and once I saw her blog, it was love at first sight.

 When Be @ Home contacted me about a feature, they asked me to write a short blurb describing my blog.  Being under pressure to define my blog gave me clarity on what mrs. hines class is about.  So, with that came a new tag line: “learn to cook, decorate, and d.i.y. your way to a better home”

For some time now, I’ve been wanting to create a drop down menu. After seeing the new menu at Between Naps on the Porch, I decided it was about time I figured it out.

I divided the “tips and tutorials” tab into two menu tabs, each with their own drop down categories.

I still need to add back some of the tips that were on the old menu page.  However, I think you will be able to better navigate your way around with the new format.

With the new theme, my menu is at the top of the page above the header image.  Also, the search widget is now in the header area instead of the sidebar.

And speaking of sidebars, I’m sure you noticed that it is now on the left.  “To the left, to the left, put everything you own in a box to the left.”  No, I haven’t been drinking. 😉

You will notice I did away with the “Show & Tell linky party” tab as well as the “Coupons” tab.   But you can still clip coupons by clicking on the coupon ad in the sidebar, under affiliates.

“Pin there, done that” has been renamed Show and Tell.  So, if you click on that menu tab, you will be taken to a gallery of my “pin there, done that” links.  I look forward to adding more links to the gallery as I turn my pins into reality.

And lastly, the “life lessons: a series collection” menu tab has been simplified to “life class”.  There is a drop down menu listing each of the series I’ve done so far.

If you click on a series title, you will be taken to all of the posts in that series, however, they are in order from newest to oldest.  I’m hoping to figure out how to reverse that so that you can read the series in chronological order.  The good news is, you can also click directly on “Life Class” to read the series’ posts in the order that they were written.

I’m tickled to death with the changes.  I hope you enjoy browsing around.  Let me know what you think.

until next time,

Sharon

