Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 living room design, home decor, design elements

After gathering inspiration and taking note of the elements that stood out to me, I went to work redesigning the living room.

First, I had to consider the space and how we use our family room.

While I would love to center the room around the fireplace mantel, that isn’t practical for our t.v. lovin’ family.

home decor, design elements, living room design

tip:  In determining furniture placement, take into consideration the permanent fixtures in the space, such as cable and electrical outlets, walls and windows as well as traffic patterns.

Now you’re ready to place your furniture in the room.

home decor, living room design, design elements, form, function

Remember, form follows function.  In my case, that means, the furniture faces the television. Secondly, I want the furniture arrangement to be conducive to conversation.

At the Hines’ house, we like to watch our favorite t.v. shows while eating dinner, so I brought in a coffee table as a make shift dinner table.  The coffee table also gives guests a place to set drinks.

home decor, living room design, design elements

Maybe our next house will have a “man cave”, but for now I gave Mr. Hines a “man chair” that is perfectly angled for watching episode after episode of NCIS.

There’s a total disturbance in the force any time I try moving that chair.  😉  I think the room looks more balanced with the chair here anyway.

home decor, living room design, design elements

Once the stage is set, we’re ready for the fun part; accessorizing.  This is your opportunity to bring in texture

home decor, living room design, design elements, texture

home decor, living room design, design elements, texture

and color.

home decor, living room design, design elements, color, accessorizing

home decor, living room design, design elements, color, accessories

Just a few details to take care of, and I’ll be FINISHED with my living room.

What project are you working on right now?

Until next time,

by Sharon Hines

I’m sharing my design tips at these link parties:

Newbie Reunion @ Debbiedoo’s Blogging and Blabbing

Tutorials and Tips  @ Home Stories A to Z

Take it on Tuesday @ Design on a Dime

Cowgirl Up @ The Farmhouse Porch

